Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

New cabinet sworn in

newAwami League President Sheikh Hasina was sworn in on Sunday as Prime Minister of the country for the second consecutive term following her party’s ‘massive victory’ in the much-talked-about election to the 10th parliament, report agencies.

Sheikh Hasina, the eldest daughter of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, became the Prime Minister for the third time.

Forty-eight others comprising 29 ministers, 17 state ministers and two deputy ministers were also sworn in.

President Abdul Hamid administered oath to the Prime Minister and her cabinet members at Bangabhaban’s  Darbar Hall. Cabinet secretary M Musharraf Hossain Bhuiyan conducted the programme.

Meanwhile, the portfolios of ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers were distributed Sunday, according to a gazette notification.

Name and portfolios of the ministers : Abul Maal Abdul Muhith will retain in the finance ministry, Amir Hossain Amu took charge of Industries Ministry, Tofail Ahmed of Commerce, Begum Matia Chowdhury of Agriculture, Abdul Latif Siddiqui of Post and Telecommunications and Information and Communication Technology, Mohammad Nasim of Health and Family Welfare, Syed Ashraful Islam of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives, Engineer Khandker Mosharraf Hossain of Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment, Rashed Khan Menon of Civil Aviation and Tourism, Principal Matiur Rahman of Religious Affairs, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain of Housing and Public Works, AKM Mozammel Haque of Liberation War Affairs, Mohammad Sayedul Haque of Live Stock and Fisheries, Muhammad Imaj Uddin Pramanik of Jute and Textile, Obaidul Quader of Communications, Hasanul Haq Inu of Information, Barrister Anisul Islam Mahmood of Water Resources, Anwar Hossain Manju of Forest and Environment, Nurul Islam Nahid of Education, Shajahan Khan of Shipping, Anisul Haque of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya of Relief and Disaster Management, Mujibul Huq of Railways, AHM Mustafa Kamal of Planning, Mostafizur Rahman of Primary and Mass Education, Asaduzzaman Noor of Cultural Affairs, Syed Mohsin Ali of Social Welfare, Shamsur Rahman Sharif of Land and M Quamrul Islam of Food.

State ministers: Besides, M Mujibul Haque (Chunnu) got the charge of Labour and Employment Ministry, as the state minister, Dr Yeafes Osman of Science and Technology, MA Mannan of Finance, Mirza Azam of Jute and Textile, Promod Mankin of Social Welfare, Bir Bahadur U Shoi Sing of Chittagong Hill Tract Affairs, Narayan Chandra Chanda of Live Stock and Fisheries, Biren Sikder of Youth and Sports, Asaduzzaman Khan of Home Affairs, Saifuzzaman Chowdhury of Land, Begum Ismat Ara Sadeq of Primary and Mass Education, Meher Afroz Chumki of Women and Children Affairs, M Mashiur Rahman Ranga of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives, M Shahriar Alam of Foreign Affairs, Zahid Malek of Health and Family Welfare, Nasrul Hamid of Power and Junaid Ahmed Palok of Information and Communication Technology.

Deputy ministers: Meanwhile, two deputy ministers got portfolios, of them Abdullah Al Islam Jaqob took charge of Water Resources ministry while Arif Khan Joy of Youth and Sports.


Source: Financial Express

Share This Post